If you and your freelancer agree to end an ongoing project or you no longer need the work done, you have the option to cancel your project. You can only do this if there are no pending Milestone Payments. Once canceled:
The project can no longer be continued and the messaging option will be disabled between you and your freelancer. Nonetheless, you will still be able to access the project, the attached files and bids.
You will receive a refund of your project fee if the project is canceled within 7 days after it is accepted.
You can go one step further and delete the project for a fee of $5. This means:
All details of the project, including attached files, messages and bids, will be permanently removed from our site’s history.
The project will disappear from search engine results the next time Freelancer.com gets reindexed.
Deleting a project within the first hour of posting it is free.